N.Design Studio

Relentless Copycat

Filed in: News & Updates Jump to comments

A fellow visitor contacted me today regarding my Illustrator tutorials being ripped by a web development company, called Prowebb. This is not the first time my work has been STOLEN. It shocked me when I’m being doubted about not being the original author of the materials. When I kindly asked for my work to be taken off their website, the response I got in return was: “How do I know you are the original owner of the content.” How can I prove it? Well, some of the tutorial screenshots have my logo on it.

It is illegal to publish any copyright material on a website without giving credit and being authorized to do so. Besides the law, there is also an ethical aspects involved. All people, not just designers, know the basic concept of claiming work that is not yours to be established as stealing. You can be inspired by someone else’s work but don’t steal. Your actions reflect your personality, and to certain extent, your capabilities. Ironically, this company is providing web design and development services.

The last email I got from them was: “I will have the tutorials you mentioned below modified to insure they are not breaking any laws.” So, does this mean it is ok to steal, as long you can find a way to around the laws?

Final Update & Conclusion

Oct 27, 2006
Prowebb has finally accepted my request and removed all my tutorials on their site. And as I promised, I have removed all screen captures and links that are referenced to Prowebb in my post. Thank you for all your support. You guys have made a difference.

90 comments so far

Pages: « 9 8 7 [6] 5 4 3 2 1 » Show All

  1. Gravatar
    Auron
    # 60

    October 12th, 2006 at 4:01 pm

    As a huge fan of your work, I’m shocked they would boldly take it that far even after you have caught them in the act of stealing.

    Just goes to show you.. a crook will be a crook even when caught.

    Keep up the great work, and I hope this doesn’t deter you from publishing more helpful tools for new webdesigners such as myself.

  2. Gravatar
    Jacki
    # 59

    October 12th, 2006 at 2:30 am

    Oh my god. They did such a terrible job on the Stamp tutorial.. take a look at their logo (final step)

  3. Gravatar
    Applaud Those Who Warn You: Your Blog’s Content Is Being Stolen « Lorelle on WordPress
    # 58

    October 12th, 2006 at 2:03 am

    […] N.Design Studio […]

  4. Gravatar
    Wolf
    # 57

    October 11th, 2006 at 10:16 pm

    I am so sorry that this has happened to you. I just found your website today and the first thing I see, you were plagiarized. I’ve been too and by magazines! I’ve fought and nothing has ever been done. I know the feeling, but the good thing is that you have plenty of people helping you out so I guess this will be sorted out soon =)

    I feel really bad though for the people who are paying this “company”. I bet they steal elements of others people’s designs for those new designs. Like, not necessarily an entire ripped design but compossing a design from stolen bits. Yeah, it’s been done to me too. Like little thingies taken from here and there. So obvious.
    I feel bad for the people who have paid this company because it’s not real work what their paying for!

  5. Gravatar
    Nick
    # 56

    October 11th, 2006 at 4:11 pm

    To Jim, I don't agree with you because if I don't do anything this time, next time will be worst. If you follow the link on comment #49, notice GFXTURK.com quickly removed all copyrighted materials? But Prowebb thinks it is right to steal and use stolen content to market their site/services. That is so wrong.

  6. Gravatar
    Jim
    # 55

    October 11th, 2006 at 3:09 pm

    Love your site. I’m sorry this had to happen. These things cannot be preventeed. Adobe and macromedia programs are being pirated eveyday and still nothing could be done to prevent that from happening. This thread is not going to help much, it’s only sending more traffic toward there site and resulting in more page hits. One thing i noticed, they maintain good site design and SEO ranking for all topics on there site. I’m surprised they would do such a thing. Did you try to contact them.

  7. Gravatar
    Larry
    # 54

    October 11th, 2006 at 2:26 pm

    I sent out emails to their customers, i received 8 emails from prowebb. They maintain 8 of the websites mentioned in there portfolio and in charge of handling there emails. I also found out they have another office in Chula vista, San diego.

  8. Gravatar
    SaucyJack
    # 53

    October 11th, 2006 at 12:11 pm

    Maybe not, but that’s how it gets you sometimes.

    I doubt that politely-worded petitions will have much effect, either.

  9. Gravatar
    Robert K
    # 52

    October 11th, 2006 at 10:55 am

    SaucyJack:

    It has been my experience that statements like, “You are a bunch of thieving bastards and will hopefully die soon and in great pain” are not very effective at convincing plagiarists to stop.

    I have gotten two replies so far my emails to the first 10 of the companies listed on P.r.o.w.e.b.b’s (I don’t want their search ranking to improve)

    The first response was:
    “thank you. we will take a look. we are curious to know how you found out about this?”

    and the second was:

    “Thank’s for the information, unfortunaly I have tried to copy the designer serval times with no response.What is a copy right voilation on my site??? I will work on getting it updated?”

    It appears that Rui Magalhães has contacted the second group of 10 in the portfolio on PW’s site.

    I encourage others to copy and paste the message below to the next 10 and post on this blog so we can get through his entire client base. Be sure to add your name at the end and let people know which sites you’ve sent to so we don’t repeat efforts.

    To whom it may concern,

    The designer of your site, Prowebb, is using plagiarized material in their website and may be using plagiarized material on yours. I invite you to view a discussion of their most recent theft of intellectual material at:

    http://www.ndesign-studio.com/blog/updates/relentless-copycat.

    I recommend that at the very least you contact Prowebb and request they provide you a written assurance that the material in your website is not violating any copyrights.

    I apologize if you have already received similar e-mails regarding this matter, it is not my intent to inconvenience you.

    Thank you,

  10. Gravatar
    vale
    # 51

    October 11th, 2006 at 7:43 am

    hi Nick, i’m very glad for this. The WWW is full of these things,
    anyway i think who stolt you has lost his face (i hope you understand what
    i mean). bye (and sorry for my english)

Pages: « 9 8 7 [6] 5 4 3 2 1 » Show All

Post your comment





Categories